Suggested Reading Order For The Colin McCool Series, The Junkyard Druid Novellas, And My THEM Post-Apocalyptic Series

Blood Ties a Junkyard Druid Urban Fantasy short story collectionReaders often ask, “What do I read first?” or “Did I miss something? These characters are referencing an event that wasn’t in the main series!”

In the latter case, they’re usually referring to something that happened in one of the short stories or novellas. I know some readers feel those additional books and stories are unnecessary, and I get that. However, the short story collections and novellas are intended to provide back story on supporting characters, and to flesh out details that I might have glossed over in the main novels.

Usually I write a short story about an event that is mentioned in the main books because the scene or sub-plot didn’t fit neatly in the original narrative. Plus, it gives me a change of pace in my writing schedule. Since I started writing full-time, I’ve found that if I’m always writing the same characters and point of view, I get burned out really fast.

I know this is confusing for people who are new to the series and world of Colin McCool, so I put together a suggested reading order, based on the chronology of the events in the Junkyard Druid books, novellas, short story collections, and THEM post-apocalyptic series, which is in the same shared universe.

Suggested Reading Order:

Druid Blood

Blood Scent

Junkyard Druid

Graveyard Druid

Moonlight Druid

Underground Druid

Blood Circus

Druid Justice

Blood Ties

Druid Enforcer

(optional) Invasion: Zombie Apocalypse

(optional) Incursion: Vampire Apocalypse

Counteraction: Werewolf Apocalypse (first THEM book in which Colin shows up)

(optional) Gabby’s Run: Paranormal Apocalypse

Extinction: Undead Apocalypse

Druid Vengeance

Druid’s Due


Questions? Suggestions? Post them in the comments!


  1. Tom Deck on July 1, 2019 at 11:21 pm

    Is there a novellas book 3?

    • M.D. Massey on July 3, 2019 at 3:15 pm

      Yup, but in the novella/short story series itself, the books are chronologically out of order.

      So, Blood Circus is #3 in that series. (That’s the YA novel I wrote when I first came up with the character, then later retconned and edited to match the adult series timelines.)

      Here’s the series page on Amazon if you want to check it out:

  2. Gary Hines on August 4, 2019 at 3:57 pm

    Are there any plans for more books beyond Druids Due?

    • M.D. Massey on August 28, 2019 at 8:54 am

      Yes… four more books, at least.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.